These are series of fantasy stories, anything having to do with magic, fairy tales, or similar subjects.  I also include stories with mythological creatures, talking animals (or animals that behave like humans), and other things that don’t exist.  There aren’t many here yet, but there will be more later.

For stories that have a kind of fantasy or fairy-tale tone but don’t feature actual magic, see my list of Pseudo-Fantasy books under Book Lists.

Magic in Daily Life

Magical events occur in the lives of ordinary children. The children live in the “real” world, often in times contemporary to when the books were written, but they encounter magical beings, objects, or circumstances that take them on fantastic adventures.

Charlotte Sometimes

The Adventures of the Bailey School Kids

The third grade class at Bailey Elementary keeps encountering strange adults who may actually be mythological or supernatural creatures. 1990-2007.

The Aviary Hall Books

This British fantasy trilogy is about the adventures of two young sisters, Charlotte and Emma Makepeace, who live at Aviary Hall. The best-known book of the trilogy is probably the third book, Charlotte Sometimes, which is a time travel story that takes place at a boarding school. By Penelope Farmer. 1962-1969.

The Dark is Rising Sequence

A group of people known as the “Old Ones” struggle against the forces of evil. This series draws on Arthurian legends, mythology, and folklore. By Susan Cooper. 1965-1977.

Green Knowe Series

The adventures of a haunted English mansion and the people who live there at various times. 1954-1976.

In the Keep of Time Trilogy

This short series of time travel stories is about children who reach out of their own time periods to touch others living in the past and in the future in order to change their world for the better. The series centers on themes of climate change and war and how we respond to changes in the world around us. By Margaret J. Anderson.

The Magic Tree House Series

Jack and Annie discover an old tree house in the woods that is filled with books and can take them to different periods of time. By Mary Pope Osborne. 1992-Present.

Mary Poppins Books

A magical nanny comes to take care of children and take them on amazing adventures. 1934-1988.

Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle Series

Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle is a woman who lives in an upside down house and has magical cures for children’s bad habits. By Betty MacDonald. 1947-1957, 2007, 1997-2001, 2016-2018.

Tales of Magic

Various groups of children go on magical adventures.  A somewhat loose series that follows different sets of characters, although some of the events are related.  By Edward Eager.

Magical or Living Toys and Dolls

For more books about toys and dolls, see my lists of Stuffed Animals and Doll Books. Those lists contain non-series books, but not all of them are magical or fantasy stories.

Indian in the Cupboard Series

A boy brings toy plastic figures to life by locking them in an old cupboard with a special key. 1980-1998.

Raggedy Ann Series

Raggedy Ann and her brother, Raggedy Andy, are rag dolls who come to life and have magical adventures. By Johnny Gruelle. 1918-1975.

Winnie-the-Pooh Series

This classic children’s series is about a stuffed bear called Winnie-the-Pooh and his other animal friends who live in the Hundred Acre Wood. By A. A. Milne. 1924-1928.

Psychic People and Special Mental Abilities

The characters in these stories may or may not have magic, but they are either psychic or have special mental abilities, like the ability to read minds, predict the future, travel through time, see and communicate with ghosts, sense things about other people, or create things or change the nature of reality with their minds. For more books on this topic, see my list of books about people with Psychic Abilities, which also contains non-series books.

The Root Cellar

Hawthorn Bay Trilogy

This is a very loose trilogy that takes place mainly in Canada, at a place called Hawthorn Bay on Lake Ontario, at various periods in history.  It’s partly an historical series and partly fantasy because some of it involves fantasy elements like ESP and time travel.  By Janet Lunn.

The Minds Series

In the far distant future, humans have evolved to the point that the things they imagine can change the nature of reality itself. By Carol Matas and Perry Nodelman. 1994-1999.

Witches, Wizards, and Other Magical Beings

These stories might take place in the modern world, but they focus on witches, wizards, and other magical beings. For more books on these topics, see my lists of Witch Books and Wizard Books, which also contain non-series books.

Little Witch Series

Little Witch is a young witch in a family of witches. She is sometimes nicer than her family wishes that she would be and has adventures with her human children friends. By Deborah Hautzig.  1984-2004.

Teen Witch

On her thirteenth birthday, Sarah Collins discovers that she is actually a witch and can use magic. By Megan Barnes.

Worst Witch Series

Mildred Hubble is the worst witch at witch school, but sometimes, being a little different from everyone else can be a good thing.  By Jill Murphy. 1974-2018.

Magical Lands

These stories take place in magical places, like fairy tale lands.

The Enchanted Forest Chronicles

This young adult series is about Princess Cimorene, who becomes the Queen of the Enchanted Forest. It parodies many popular fairy tales. By Patricia C. Wrede. 1985-1993.

Stardust Classics

This is actually a collection of fantasy series about different girls: the princess of a fairy-tale kingdom, a fairy, and a girl who travels through time with her aunt.  The format is similar to the American Girls history series, and there were dolls associated with it.  By various authors.

Three Tales of My Father’s Dragon

A boy named Elmer Elevator has adventures with a young dragon. 1948-1951.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s