This classic children’s series by A. A. Milne is about a stuffed bear called Winnie-the-Pooh and his other animal friends who live in the Hundred Acre Wood. They are friends with a human boy named Christopher Robin, who is based on the author’s son. The animals in the book, including Winnie-the-Pooh (who was originally named Edward but was renamed by Christopher Robin himself) are based on the real Christopher Robin’s toys when he was a child in the early 1920s. The other animals/toys include Piglet, Tigger, Eeyore, and Kanga and Roo.

Disney now owns the rights to Winnie-the-Pooh. There has been more than one television series based on the books, and there are still movies and books being made with these characters as well as toys. For the moment, I’m just focusing on the original books by Milne.

Books in the Original Series:

When We Were Very Young (1924)

A collection of poems, including the first appearance of Winnie-the-Pooh.

Winnie-the-Pooh (1926)

Now We Are Six (1927)

The House at Pooh Corner (1928)

Little Golden Books:

Winnie-the-Pooh and The Honey Tree

Winnie-the-Pooh and Tigger

Winnie-the-Pooh and the Pebble Hunt

Winnie-the-Pooh Meets Gopher

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s