These are series of historical fiction books that take place in different time periods.  I haven’t included books that were just written in earlier time periods (for instance, a book that takes place in the 1950s but was written in the 1950s wouldn’t count).  For a complete list of all historical fiction on this site, including standalone books, see Historical Fiction by Period.

American Girls Books

A collection of different series of books, each focusing on a girl from a different period of American history.

Grandma’s Attic Series

A granddaughter passes on stories that her grandmother told her about growing up on a farm in Michigan during the 1800s.  The stories often have a Christian moral.  By Arleta Richardson.

Journey to America Saga

A Jewish family flees Germany to escape World War II and struggles to establish themselves in America.  The stories cover the changes in their lives and how the daughters of the family deal with growing up in a new country. By Sonia Levitin.

Soup Books

These stories are about the author’s experiences growing up in a small town in Vermont during the 1920s and the escapades he had with his best friend, Soup. By Robert Newton Peck.

Historical Mysteries

Mandie Books

A historical mystery series with Christian themes that takes place in turn-of-the-century South Carolina.  Amanda Shaw is an orphan with a mysterious past but who finds a new life with relatives she had never met.  By Lois Gladys Leppard.

The Samurai Detective Series

The adopted son of a famous judge helps him to solve mysteries in feudal Japan.  Not a series for young children!  By Dorothy and Thomas Hoobler.

Historical Fantasy

Involves elements of time travel in order to tell a story about the past.

Hawthorn Bay Trilogy

This is a very loose trilogy that takes place mainly in Canada, at a place called Hawthorn Bay on Lake Ontario, at various periods in history.  It’s partly an historical series and partly fantasy because some of it involves fantasy elements like ESP and time travel.

Historical Non-Fiction

This includes “creative non-fiction,” which means that factual information is presented in the form of a story. The events of the story may not be literally true, but the story provides the opportunity to explain something about real events.

Diary Histories

This series of picture books presents life in different historical periods from the point of view of children living in those periods.  By Richard Platt.

Historic Communities

This is a non-fiction series of picture books about aspects of daily life in America during the 18th and 19th centuries.

Kate Waters Books

Kate Waters is the author of a series focusing on historical reenactors, showing them acting out the lives of real children who lived in Colonial America.